Salsa Chicken

by Adrienne

Image

Something you should know about me is how much I love Mexican food. Ask anyone who’s spent five minutes in a room with me — I dream about it. I covet it. When I was pregnant, I didn’t get any weird cravings, I just wanted enchiladas all the time, which is only slightly more often than I usually do.

The weird thing is that I’m not super picky about my Mexican food. I like it Americanized and I like it authentic. I definitely prefer quality Mexican, but I also don’t turn my nose up to Taco Bell. You may have just lost all respect for me as a lover of central American cuisine, but have you had their Fiesta Potatoes? Don’t answer that. I would take home cooked tacos over T-Bell any day of the week, I just don’t say no if the opportunity presents itself.

Until somewhat recently, I only ever cooked beef for tacos. It was what I was accustomed to and I never really thought about making anything else. Then I found this chicken and OH MAN, I might love it more than beef. And I found this really delish looking pork recipe that I’m dying to try (coming soon, I’m sure).

This salsa chicken is super easy to make. It can be used for your basic tacos, or you can make some awesome quesadillas with it. Mexican soups? You bet. Nachos? Duh, yum. The best part? You get to ignore it for half the time it’s cooking, which is how I believe most things should be made. You can use all store-bought ingredients if you want, or you can make everything yourself. All it really takes is some chicken, salsa, garlic, and a few spices.

Image

INGREDIENTS:
2 chicken breasts
1/2 c salsa (homemade or store-bought)
1/4 c water*
2 cloves garlic, pressed or finely chopped
1 packet taco seasoning + 1 t chili powder
OR make your own seasoning (please note that the following is the recipe for seasoning. If you’re using a packet, do not also use the following):
1 T + 1 t chili powder
1/4 t garlic powder
1/4 t onion powder
1/4 t crushed red pepper flakes
1/2 t paprika
1 1/2 t cumin
1/4 t cayenne (optional)
1 t salt
1 t pepper

*you may need to add extra water if the salsa you use is on the dryer side.

1. In a large skillet, mix salsa and water. Feel free to be a little generous with the salsa. Add chicken breasts and cook over medium heat until salsa starts to boil.

2. Add taco seasoning and garlic. Stir everything up until well combined and flip the chicken breasts over. Cover, reduce heat, and allow to simmer for 15 minutes.

3. Using two forks, shred the chicken and stir around to incorporate the salsa mixture. Serve with tacos, burritos, quesadillas, ice cream (I won’t judge you), and ENJOY!

Again Kevin (the cat) is absent. He’ll return soon, I promise.