Penne with Creamy Vodka Sauce

by Adrienne

Image

I discovered this recipe this summer, and I’ve probably made it at least every two weeks since. We LOVE this sauce. Previous to this, the only vodka sauce recipe I made was chunky, which is absolutely fine by me, but Phil is one of those picky types who doesn’t like to eat tomatoes while they still somewhat resemble tomatoes. I don’t get it.

The best thing about this recipe is that all the ingredients are things you probably already have on hand. If, for whatever reason, you don’t, it’s super easy stock your pantry with everything you need, and keep it that way. The only thing needed for this recipe I ever have to consciously remember to pick up at the store is tomato puree. I don’t even have to remember it anymore, I just pick up a can or two each time I go shopping and we’re good to go.

Most of the time, I actually make this without the vodka. I know chicken broth can be used as a substitute, but when you only need so little it seems pointless to open a can or pull some from the freezer. We decided we might actually like this better sans-vodka, so if I’m being honest, I guess what we make in our kitchen is Penne with Creamy Vodka-less Sauce. Whichever way you choose to make it, this is such a delicious pasta dish, and only costs pennies to make (especially the vodka-less way)!

Image

Recipe from here

INGREDIENTS:
1 lb penne (or other tubular pasta)
1 29oz can tomato puree
1/4 c olive oil
4 cloves garlic, pressed or diced
1/2 t crushed red pepper flakes
1 c heavy cream
2 T vodka (optional)

Recommended:
Mozzarella or parsley for garnish

1. Cook pasta according to package directions.

2. In a large skillet combine olive oil, garlic, and red pepper flakes over medium heat until garlic is fragrant and golden. Add tomato puree and simmer for about 15 minutes until mixture has thickened.

3. Drain pasta and add to sauce. Stir to combine. Add vodka and stir. Add cream and stir. Cover and allow to sit for about 5 minutes before serving. Garnish with parsley OR mozzarella. I’m sure fresh basil would also be fantastic, so someone should try that and let me know how it goes.

Bonus: me looking frazzled trying to get Kevin to pretend to cook by holding a spoon. It went really well.

Image

